Skip to Main Content

Annotated Bibliography

Nursing 220 Annotated Bibliography Assignment

 

NURS 220 Evidence Based Practice (EBP)

Annotated Bibliography

Due Dates: See course calendar.

EBP assignments are important in nursing school to help student nurses develop the skills needed to provide safe evidence based care. Evidence effecting safe practice is published continuously, therefore nurses must be able to quickly evaluate research and make decisions effecting patient care. Developing these skills also prepares nurses to continue their education beyond the ADN RN degree.

Research:

Select a new topic that you have not previously written about in the nursing program.

Select 2 articles from peer-reviewed journals that were published within the last 5 years. Both may be primary research (completed by the authors) or 1 may be a systematic review (like a Cochrane review that reviews a collection of primary research by others).

Paper:

Select quality research, and summarize this research concisely in an APA style annotated bibliography.

Presentation:

Your presentation may use props like a PowerPoint, or a poster, or you may just stand in front of the class and present what you learned. Presentation must be less than 7 minutes and contain these pieces:

    1. Summarize the research you selected.
    2. Assess the research you found. Evaluate the quality of the research, identify its strengths and weaknesses.
    3. Reflect on the research. Is it helpful to you and other nurses? How have your thoughts on the topic changed due to this research?

Links to program and curriculum themes:

QSEN Competency: Evidence-based practice

Program Outcomes related to EBP: Nursing Process, Safety, Communication, Professionalism, Resilience

Course concepts related to project: Resilience, Perfusion, Acid-Base Balance, Nutrition, and Psychosocial issues in healthcare.

EBP Steps you will need to follow:

      1. Ask a Clinical Question.
      2. Acquire the best evidence.
      3. Appraise the evidence.
      4. Apply the evidence to nursing.

Assignment Objectives:

  • Search online database for current primary research.
  • Summarize research.
  • Evaluate research.
  • Use current APA format to write an annotated bibliography

Online Posting (10 points):
• Post topic on discussion board, see Canvas for details.

EBP Annotated Bibliography Directions (100 points):

    • Title centered on the top of the page.
    • Your full name centered below the title.

    • Reference written in APA style, including using hanging indentation, single spaced.
    • Alphabetize sources.

    • Summary: Double-spaced Concise summary of each current scholarly article. Please write 1 Paragraph per article that summarizes the research methods and findings.
    • Each summary will be immediately below the reference, so no citations are needed.

    • Entire paper should be 1-2 pages, with the written summaries double spaced.

Presentation (30 Points, 10 points per section):

    1. Summary
    2. Assessment
    3. Reflection